Millennial ago, seers in the ancient Eastern tradition articulated the blueprint for the fulfillment of the objectives of human birth as was shown to them in the highest supreme levels of consciousness. The Supreme Self pervades and exists in all dimensions in all beings, sentient and insentient. It is that Supreme Self that exists inside each individual self, in each individual person. And therefore every individual person is none other than the Supreme Self, for how can the part be different from the whole. In order for an individual to realize their supreme Self, they need to identify the reasons and objectives why they came into being on this earth plane, and fulfill them.

Author:Kazrataxe Brajin
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):14 June 2013
PDF File Size:6.22 Mb
ePub File Size:18.6 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

In this article, we will discuss Hinduism facts about the four purusharthas i. If you are new to Hinduism , you might have a question in your mind that how to live an ideal life as a Hindu. Is it always necessary to denounce the normal life and become an ascetic to acquire salvation?

Dharma: Dharma literally means religion or law but here it actually means righteousness i. So, one has to observe Dharma while living in society by respecting the laws of society and doing the right things.

Artha: Artha means wealth or the things related to earning money. To live life happily as a common person, you need money but this money should be acquired by honest methods only.

If there is a clash between Dharma and Artha, Dharma should be given more priority than Artha. People know Hinduism for spirituality but Hinduism is also a very practical religion. Hinduism honestly appreciates that sexual pleasure is one of the highest and purest pleasures that God had given to the human.

It is the basic instinct through which procreate ourselves and preserve the human race. Moksha: The Moksha means salvation i.

Hinduism believes in reincarnation. What we are today is the result of our past life Karma and what we would be in the next life would be the result of what we do in the present life. Our soul thus gets trapped in the cycle of birth and rebirth. Therefore, Moksha is necessary to liberate the soul from this cycle.

Hinduism not only tells the aims of life but also tells how to achieve them. Kama does not mean pleasure. It simply means desire. Desire is not restricted to sexual desire alone. Any desire is Kama. Leave a Reply Cancel reply Your email address will not be published. Comment Name Email.


Four Purusharthas in Hinduism

Millennia ago, Saints in ancient Eastern traditions articulated the blueprint for the fulfillment human birth, as it was revealed to them in the highest states of meditation and consciousness. The Supreme Self pervades and exists in all dimensions and all beings, sentient and insentient. Therefore every person is none other than the Supreme Self. For an individual to realize their Supreme Self, they need to identify the reasons and objectives for which they came into being on this earth plane and ultimately fulfill those purposes. The ancient sages articulated the goals of humankind as Purusharthas. Purusha means an individual or person, and Artha means objective, meaning, or pursuit. The four Purusharthas are:.


Dharma Artha Kama Moksha – The 4 Purusharthas

All four Purusarthas are important, but in cases of conflict, Dharma is considered more important than Artha or Kama in Hindu philosophy. Historical Indian scholars recognized and debated the inherent tension between active pursuit of wealth Artha purusartha and pleasure Kama , and renunciation of all wealth and pleasure for the sake of spiritual liberation Moksha. They proposed "action with renunciation" or "craving-free, dharma-driven action", also called Nishkam Karma as a possible solution to the tension. Purusha means "primaeval human being as the soul and original source of the universe".



Jump to navigation. The Purusharthas are the inherent values of the Universe. They include Artha economic values , Kama pleasure , Dharma righteousness , and Moksha liberation. Follow these tips that can help you along your journey through the Purusharthas. If you bring forth what is within you, what you bring forth will save you.


The Four Purusharthas (Aims) of Hinduism

Not I, nor anyone else, can travel that road for you. You must travel it by yourself. It is not far. It is within reach. Perhaps you have been on it since you were born, and did not know.

Related Articles